The UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development 2021-2030 presents a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to deliver scientific knowledge, foster technological innovation, and build capacity to achieve the 2030 Agenda and reverse the decline of ocean health. This will be a truly global effort based on inclusive partnerships flourishing in a global research and innovation ecosystem.


Following the First Global Planning Meeting held May 2019 in Denmark, a series of Regional Consultative Workshops have been organized. The UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development 2021-2030: Western Tropical Atlantic Regional Workshop will be convened 28-29 April 2020. This event is being hosted by the Autonomous National University of Mexico (UNAM) and co-organized by the Government of Mexico with the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) as coordinating body for the Decade and the Secretariat of the Cartagena Convention (UN Environment).


Due to the unprecedented situation caused by the COVID-19 virus, the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development (2021-2030): Western Tropical Atlantic Regional Workshop Organizing Committee, together with the local host, have decided to host this workshop virtually instead of face to face meeting.


The Western Tropical Atlantic Regional Workshop offers a crucial opportunity to co-design mission-oriented ocean research strategies in line with the 2030 Agenda, Sustainable Development Goals (SDG), particularly SGD 14, the Convention for the Protection and Development of the Marine Environment of the Wider Caribbean, and the SAMOA Pathway. The Workshop will focus on Western Tropical Atlantic countries and territories needs and priorities in terms of transforming knowledge systems; accelerating transfer of technology; enabling training and education; fostering science-policy dialogues, and enabling scientific solutions to the Region´s socio-economic challenges.


This event will provide a two-day virtual forum to gather ocean leaders/champions/key stakeholders to further discuss and prioritize the issues identified at the First Global Planning Meeting. The Workshop will facilitate regional, interdisciplinary discussions across sectors, such as ocean science and technology, ocean policy and sustainable development, business and industry, NGOs and civil society, and donors and foundations. The forum will identify concrete deliverables and new and expanded partnerships to meet the Decade's six societal objectives:


These regional workshops will review knowledge gaps, identify priority areas and needs in capacity development, and catalyze development of potential projects / programmes under the Decade.


The following expected Outputs are envisaged:


► Identification of knowledge gaps and list of the regional scientific priorities vis-à-vis the 2030 Agenda requirements and the six Decade themes;


► List of existing and potential regional partnerships/networks/initiatives in the thematic areas of Ocean Observing Systems, data and information systems and management, early warning systems, etc.;


► Priorities in capacity development / training;


►Prioritized list of actions identified;


► Identification of interested partners clustered around themes/potential actions to be developed during the Decade;


► Follow-up arrangements (timeline for the development of individual partnerships/initiatives; responsibilities of various partners, identification of potential resources, identification of experts, communication/reporting mechanisms);


► An informed group of stakeholders who are committed to the transformational change in the ocean science required for the ocean we want and need.



Countries, Associated States and Territories of the Western Tropical Atlantic:  Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, France, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherland, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Surinam, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela.


Puerto Rico (United States of America), Anguilla (United Kingdom), British Virgin Islands (United Kingdom), Cayman Islands (United Kingdom), French Guiana (France), Guadeloupe (France), Montserrat (United Kingdom), Martinique (France), Bonaire, Saint Eustatius, Saba (Special Municipalities of the Netherlands), Saint Barthelemy (France), Saint Martin (France), Turks and Caicos (United Kingdom), United States Virgin Islands (United States of America).