Current News Items

Up Coming Events

Level 1 Aton Manager Course

Monday, 14 October 2019 - Wednesday, 6 November 2019

Training Course: Sistemas de Carbonato

Monday, 21 October 2019 - Friday, 25 October 2019

First International Trade Show on Sargassum Management...

Thursday, 24 October 2019 - Saturday, 26 October 2019

Eighth session of the IODE Steering Group for OBIS

Tuesday, 5 November 2019 - Friday, 8 November 2019

Seminar on the Use of the IALA Risk Seminar Toolbox,...

Monday, 18 November 2019 - Friday, 22 November 2019

Videos

2S1
3S2

Sargassum Outlook Bulletin

Previous Events

Events Calendar

October 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31

Outlook of 2018 Sargassum blooms in the Caribbean Sea - October 30, 2018

In January 2018, unusually high amount of Sargassum was caught in satellite imagery in both the Caribbean and the central West Atlantic. While the former could only be peered by January 2015, the latter represented a historical record. Based on these observations and based on the connectivity between the two regions, in early February 2018 we generated and distributed our first 1-page Sargassum outlook bulletin for the Caribbean Sea, and predicted that 2018 would be a major bloom year for the Caribbean.

The images show distributions of Sargassum areal density for the most recent month, together with the same month in previous years. It is clear that 2018 represents a record-high bloom year for both the Caribbean and the central West Atlantic. The reasons behind this record-high bloom, however, are yet to be determined. 

Sargassum Outlook Bulletin, July 2018

 

Satellite-based Sargassum Watch System (SaWS)